Happy New Year! & T25

1722924_10100325765817331_6994609964290370333_n

Hello, and happy new year!

Gosh, I have been such an utter failure at writing in here this past year. I hope to change that this year, but we’ll see. Last year I did manage to achieve my goal of reading more, so maybe this year I shall focus on writing more!

I think I’m going to start writing about fitness regimes again. I managed to complete Zombies 5k last year, but suffered with persistent shin splints that still won’t go, forcing me to give up on the running malarkey. It’s a combination of having low arches but being an underpronator, meaning my feet roll outwards. Because of this, I find it much easier to work out barefoot, which is why I’ve gone back to home workouts. Now I realise why I’ve always hated wearing shoes!

This past year I’ve been pretty successful with working out. There have been set backs (thanks to labyrinthitis, something I may write about in the future), and I have PCOS so no great weight loss has been achieved, but what has been achieved is a level of fitness and defined arm muscles that haven’t ever been seen before!

I usually do Jillian Michaels’ workouts, and my favourite is Ripped in 30. After I finished the second go-round of that, I attempted her 30 Day Slimdown program, which combines 30 Day ShredNo More Trouble Zones, and Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism. My problem with this is I prefer to get my workouts done in as short an amount of time as possible, and NMTZ and BFBM are both 50 min workouts, which made me start to dread them.

So in comes Shaun T’s Focus T25! My aim in getting fit has always been to get to the level where I can do Insanity without ending up on the floor gasping for breath during the warmup (yes, that happened), and I’m still not there yet. Plus, the workouts are LONG. So Focus T25 seemed right up my street. So far I have done the first two days and let me tell you, they are no joke. I heard some people say they’re for beginners; technically they are, but only if you follow the modifications. I consider myself intermediate and I had to take more breaks following Shaun T than I was happy with. Not running in so long has turned my calves back to jelly.

I missed my workout today thanks to the inevitable NYE hangover, so tomorrow I will be picking up where I left off with Total Body Circuit. I’m already dreading it. The first two workouts were mainly cardio but I cannot believe how much my shoulders and back ache; these beats of a workout certainly work every part of your body. So if I remember, I’ll be back tomorrow with an update on how that goes. Wish me luck!

Nikki x

Leave a Reply

