Finally!

Posts from me may be a bit on the thin side for the rest of the year. Why?

I got a bloomin’ job!

Yes. Yes I did. Only a 5 month temporary contract but balls to that: IT’S A JOB! And the best thing about it? I’m getting paid to write. Yes, ladies and gents, I’m a bonafide writer! (Actual title: Product Copywriting Assistant)

I’m working for one of the biggest retail companies in the UK; if you’re British you’ll definitely know them. They’re redesigning their website, and I’ve been brought in with a team of 5 other temps to rewrite their product descriptions for a more friendly, Innocent smoothie-style feel.

I’ve just finished my first week, and this is also my first taste of full-time work. And so far, I’m really enjoying it. The team I’m part of is mainly female and my age, and everyone isΒ soΒ nice. Unbelievably so. I and the new temps have already been invited on our first office night out! πŸ˜€

But I’m enjoying the work. I really wanted to write as a job, and copywriting may just be my vocation.

I’m really happy that after holding out for a decent job for so long, I finally got one. I’m getting paid good money, doing a job I enjoy, gaining valuable experience and working for a well-respected company. I didn’t have to sell my soul to Tesco or the Jobcentre and work for free. I held out and it paid off.

The best thing about getting this job was that after I got past the agency stage (I know, it shocked me too!), the interview had a practical part: so I wasn’t hired solely on my ability to answer questions in the correct style. I had to rewrite a product following their style guide. I was hired based on actual skill!

I’ve been so chuffed about this job. After a year of searching, I finally found people willing to give me a chance. I can show people I have a good work ethic and am friendly and enthusiastic (I was called a human Springer Spaniel today, haha!)

I’m glad I put two fingers up to the Jobcentre and their way of doing things. Only applying for jobs I wanted worked out in the end. I put more effort into my applications and didn’t waste anybody’s time by applying for jobs I had no intention of accepting. It also allowed me to hone my skills: I always knew I could write and I’ve always enjoyed it, but in the last year I have written more than ever, and I’ve been very lucky to have the opportunity to sharpen my writing and then be paid to do it!

So, if you’re still job hunting, don’t give up. Stay true to yourself and don’t let anyone tell you to settle.

Nikki x

4 thoughts on “Finally!

Leave a Reply

