Buh-Bye!

Today I signed off of Jobseeker’s Allowance.

No, I don’t have a job.

But I was getting fed up of being dictated to. To be fair, I never dealt with any horrible people, but the system is a mess. That is for another entry though, maybe tomorrow.

I work part time, as you all know, but it’s actually classed as self-employment, so I already do self-assessments and am registered as a sole trader. My dad runs his own business as an antique dealer and he has finally agreed to let me in on the business – and by this, I mean, using some of my own money to buy and sell antiques. My dad actually has loads of antiques lying around that he’s too lazy to sell, so he agreed to let me have some to get me started. I also have a shit ton of old clothes and books and DVDs that could be sold. So long as I make £30 a week (how much JSA I got), then I’m sorted!

I feel like a weight has been lifted off of me; jobseeker’s was making me increasingly lackadaisical and was starting to erode my self-confidence – not ideal for someone who needs thick skin whilst job hunting.

So, hurrah! I do intend to write a post asap on how the Jobcentre could improve, but for now I’m off to get ready to see Derren Brown! 😀

Nikki x

One thought on “Buh-Bye!

  1. Good for you. I signed off JSA too, now I’m as free as a bird. The advisors were fine with me but there was not a great deal of help or options on offer. My CV was up to standard, I was getting interviews and my regular advisor said there was nothing more they could do for me. I’m a mature bird, but I feel so sorry for the youngsters I used to see in the job centre with long faces.
    Don’t let them grind you down, ENJOY LIFE and the right thing will come along when the time is right. xx

Leave a Reply

