30 Day Shred.

So following on from a few online chums on Twitter, I decided to cave into peer pressure and commence the 30 Day Shred. I do have a gym membership but getting to the gym can be tricky since I don’t drive and so having to rely on parents frequently throws me out of my routine.

Apparently she’s the trainer on The Biggest Loser (I don’t watch it so wouldn’t know). But it appeals to me because she’s actually a fitness trainer, not some random celeb who lost thirty pounds and then put it all back on (I’m looking at you, Natalie Cassidy!).

There is a lot of love for this woman and this DVD online – there are a ton of before and after pictures and you can really see the difference. I came across a woman who said she had only lost 2 pounds overall but she had become extremely toned making her look as if she had lost at least 20! (And of course, muscle weighs more than fat.)

The 30 Day Shred consists of three 20 minute sessions. You do Level 1 for ten days, then Level 2 for ten days and finally Level 3 for ten days. There is no resting. The sessions consists of a few minutes of cardio, then strength, then abs, and that happens three times. It’s basically circuit/interval training.

I  did Level 1 earlier today and at the time I felt a bit like ‘Oh, I don’t feel as knackered as I thought I would’ but I felt it more once I stopped – I felt more tired in 20 minutes than I do after an hour at the gym, which has to be something! Plus my thighs ache a considerable amount.

The only bit I had trouble with was the skipping because I am an uncoordinated idiot. So I substituted that bit with jumping on the spot 😉

I thought I’d write about it in here to see if I can keep it up. It would be embarrassing starting a blog on it and then not continuing!

The only thing that might stop me doing it is what stopped me doing Zumba – I have a lot of trouble with my neck and aerobics style activities make it stiffen up and a few hours later I will get an absolutely cracking headache. I have no idea how to stop this from happening other than roping my mom into giving me a neck massage and taking ibuprofen. I felt on the verge of getting a headache earlier but I took a couple of paracetamol and I feel ok at the moment.

Anyway, we shall see. Wish me luck!

Nikki x

Leave a Reply

